ESLinsider's reviews can be seen below. Read reviews of the Basic and Advanced online TEFL courses (formerly called 20, 60, & 120 hour). If you have completed one of ESLinsider's online courses then please post your review and rating here.

Please read before leaving a review.

  1. Use the email and full name (or last name abbreviated such as "Ian L.") that you used in the course. Constructive criticism is o.k, but if you do not use your name and email used in the course then your review and comment may be deleted. The reason why is that it will be safe to assume that you did not take the course and that you may be a troll or out to damage the reputation of ESLinsider. 
  2. Mention the course that you took.

28 customer reviews

5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 star
    27
  • 4 star
    1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Not Well-Known, Yet Has Invaluable Information and Advising From a Great Teacher
3 months ago.
Review
At first I was hesitant to take Ian's Advanced Course, since there didn't seem to be much information about it online. However, I can now say with full confidence that Ian has put together a masterclass catalog of teaching materials, each presented in a clear and logical way, with a great website to re-find anything if needed. The course pages seem to be frequently updated and Ian is incredibly quick to respond to submitted assignments or messages. Direct communication with Ian is a huge plus. There are a few assignments to submit (Lesson Plans, mainly) and Ian gave me very detailed and meaningful feedback on every one. Also, the certificate looks very professional. I have no complaints about the course and everything exceeded my expectations!
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Teaches a lot of practical skills
4 months ago.
Review
I have finished the advanced course, formerly known as 120h course, and I've found it to be very informative. It focuses mostly on practical skills that you can use in a classroom. There are lots of videos which show you how to teach. Highly recommended!
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Good course
8 months ago.
Review
As an ESL teacher in Asia I can say that all that is on this course is true, it helped me in expand my knowledge in ways of learning and teaching, so I can recommend it
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Informative and straightforward
8 months ago.
Review
I found this course after literally hours of searching online and reading reviews on other 120-hour courses. ESLinsider has been extremely informative and Ian provides detailed feedback on the submission tasks which is fantastic. Not only that, but the materials and resources that are available is quite extensive and can be easily tweaked for the level you're teaching.

The course was straightforward and the methods provided will be a great help when I start teaching next year. Thank you ESLinsider!
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • Ian Leahy 7 months ago.
    You got it Nhu! Just so everyone else knows the "Advanced" course was formerly named a 120 hour course.
Excellent
9 months ago.
Review
I took the Advanced (120 hour) course. I was quite overwhelmed when I began looking for online courses for a TEFL certification, but during my search I stumbled upon Ian's ESLinsider. I can honestly say that this course was very easy to understand and introduced materials, games, and activities that I am actually excited about using in my classroom.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
A great, comprehensive course and a great value for the money
10 months ago.
Review
The course was a great value for my money and gave me the tools to begin this new career. Covered all aspects of teaching from theory to practical tips. Was easy to move through because it wasn't all text-based -- there were plenty of videos that gave real-world examples of the teaching. I feel better prepared and have the backup of the course that I can refer to later if I need help. My only complaint would be that I wish the TEFL certificate looked a little more professional. Overall, absolutely would recommend.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • Ian Leahy 7 months ago.
    Thanks Laura. I looked closer at the certificate and made some adjustments to the text on it so that it is more centered.
TEFL 120 Hour
1 year ago
Review
I took Ian's 120 hour (now called Advanced) course two years ago and it was one of the best investments I made. I had been teaching in Korea for six years up to that point and had to learn through trial and error on the jobs I worked which was not easy. Ian's course is practical and based on actual experience in the classroom, not just dry theory. The videos were extremely helpful in the process and I still refer to them every now and then when I need ideas for class. While the course is not overly difficult, it's certainly no walk in the park as you do have to pay attention and take notes. I really wish this course had been around during my early years in Korea because it would've helped so much more than the so-called orientation and training I did for a week in Seoul when I started with EPIK. I highly recommend these courses if you are serious about gaining practical knowledge of ESL teaching from someone who has been there.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • Ian Leahy 7 months ago.
    Thanks George! I am glad to hear it's helped you.
A great pleasure
1 year ago
Review
Very useful, easy taking, positive , life related , actual , balanced teaching methods were used . All these points l’ll transfer to my teaching.
It made me feel refreshed and ESLinsider , not outsider .
Thanks a lot, goodbye
‘Marina from Russia’
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • Ian Leahy 7 months ago.
    Haha Marina. Thanks. Hope all is well in Russia.
Practical. Straightforward. Interactive.
1 year ago
Review
This course was excellent. Ian presented information in a very straightforward manner that made it fast and easy to use in a classroom. Instead of boring you with tons of theory, this course shows you what you can, how you can do it, and why you should do it.
In this course, students learn with easy to follow videos with demos.

I also really appreciated how active Ian was on the messaging boards. I could always rely on him to help answer a question to an issue or to give me feedback on my assignments.

Overall, this is a great course to learn to teach or to improve on your skills as a teacher. Thanks, Ian!
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • Ian Leahy 1 year ago
    Thanks Dwayne! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed it ;-)
Time well spent
1 year ago
Review
Excellent course, affordable and to the point. The content focuses on what is important and instills confidence consistently throughout. The videos are fantastic and I will be using them as a point of reference throughout my development. I found Ian very friendly and attentive, clearing up any queries that I sent in his direction. I can’t recommend highly enough.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful