ESLinsider's online TEFL course reviews can be seen below. Read reviews of the 20, 60, and 120 hour courses. If you have completed one of ESLinsider's online courses then please post your review and rating here.

Please read before leaving a review.

  1. Use the email and full name (or last name abbreviated such as "Ian L.") that you used in the course. If you do not use your name and email used in the course then your review and comment may be deleted. The reason why is that it will be safe to assume that you did not take the course and that you may be a troll or out to damage the reputation of ESLinsider.
  2. Mention the course that you took (20, 60 or 120 hour).{jcomments off}
5.0/5 from 14 users. ( 14 reviews.)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Rounding Out Your Resume
  · 1 months ago.
The 20-Hour course was a quick, inexpensive way to add a TEFL Certificate to my resume. I already teach ESOL to adults as part of my job in the United States, and the 20-hour certificate was a great way to complete a professional development/continuing education requirement. The program offers a great guideline for organizing your English lessons, and gives fun class ideas to engage your students.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
120 Hour Course, Straightforward, Experience-Based, Resource heavy
  · 4 months ago.
Ian made a great course supplied with youtube videos of his actual teachings and advice, as well as supplemental videos from other sources that are just as useful. Ian tries to orient his course around the information that he has on his blog, so even when you're done with the course, you don't feel alone, left out, and confused. At the end he even includes a reference which can be really helpful when trying to start in a new country. I've learned so much from this course (and I came here from an incomplete i-to-i class after my email was ignored) and I don't regret it. Ian is quick to respond to messages and fix any issues, and I never had any outstanding problems.

If you want cheap, effective, and straight to the point, this course has got you covered.

Though I would recommend, use a notebook and take plenty of notes!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Go on! Register now!
  · 4 months ago.
This course was easy and fun to go through. I really enjoyed it & it has also given me confidence in teaching and standing in front of students.

Another thing that I love is the efficiency and help from the administrator. He always responded timeously every time I needed assistance. This course is affordable too, I would encourage anyone to get on the wagon and do it :)
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
120 hour online TEFL course
  · 5 months ago.
I just completed the 120 hour online TEFL course. I am an experienced teacher, having taught Science and Gifted Education in the US for ten years prior to coming to Taiwan. Although teacher prep programs will help, many aspects of teaching EFL are unique. I wish I would have taken this course BEFORE I started teaching here three years ago. The methods and insights given in ESL Insider's 120 hour TEFL course could have saved me a lot of grief and disappointment. Now I am optimistic about starting a new school year armed with better lessons and a realigned perspective. Thank you, ESL Insider!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Do It
  · 7 months ago.
I've spent many years teaching ESL without certification, but to be considered for lots of jobs I needed to get one. This course saved me thousands of dollars and reminded and taught me lots of new activities and games that work. I find that sometimes even tired adults like the kind of fun, physical games I learned here. I played fruit basket with a group of full-grown factory workers working the night shift in rural Japan, and I think some of them appreciated that kind of change of pace. Right after I took this course I was offered a job in Saudi Arabia that had stipulated they needed an in-person TEFL in their ad, but when I looked at their paper work after the interview, it looks like they counted this certificate as valid, and I was offered a job. I was really glad I had stumbled upon Ian's site. Thanks, Ian.

Emily
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Best Course and Best Price!
  · 5 months ago.
I took the course last winter and I loved it! I looked at over 30 different courses online and at local schools and I kept coming back to this course - and I'm very glad I did! This course was thorough and I felt very prepared as I completed the course. Ian's new book is a great course companion guide for keeping the lessons at the forefront of your mind while teaching ESL. I look forward to taking the 1000 hour continuing ed course and I will always tell others that this is the must take course for preparing to teach English as a second or foreign language. Impressive and not overpriced as so many out there are.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
60 hour course
  · 6 months ago.
I took the 60 hour course to receive certification. The course fully covered all the basics of teaching ESL without costing a great deal of money!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great Program at a Great Price!
  · 6 months ago.
I took the 120 hour TEFL course. It was a great review of information that native speakers learn in our formative years. I found the many videos extremely useful. This is a great course for someone who wishes to teach abroad.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TEFL 120 Hour Course
  · 6 months ago.
There's a lot of TEFL courses out there and I found ESL Insider's course to be very useful. The content is concise and the advice is practical. I've looked at other courses costing many times more than this one and wasn't impressed. I will definitely be using the ideas and activities presented in the course in my future jobs. I would highly recommend this course to any prospective ESL teachers out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Oh China!
  · 7 months ago.
I got it in my mind to teach English in China. After reviewing the localities, I searched for an online, affordable TEFL and found Ian's. Since I got the certified TEFL, I've taught in Dongyang & am currently teaching in Hangzhou. This TEFL is a key to amazing adventure abroad. If I were you, I'd get it. Best of all, you can actually talk to him. He answers personal emails, so you're not just money or a number. You're a real person he respects and will do his best to assist however he can.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
ESL Course
  · 7 months ago.
Excellent! Well prepared and researched course! Outcomes are aligned with the course objectives. The Curriculum for the appropriate levels.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
60 Hour Course, Excellent
  · 7 months ago.
I have obtained certification for the 60 hour online course and have really benefited from it. Insights and course outlay really brought a lot of detail and information to the light. I can honestly recommend this course to any person wanting to teach English as a foreign language. Thank you Ian for all your assistance and thorough lessons.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
TEFL 120 Hour
  · 7 months ago.
This is a fantastic course! I paid twice as much for another course and I didn't learn nearly as much as I did in this one. It gives you everything you need to know about teaching English, plus provides great resources. I recommend this course above all others.
Was this review helpful to you?
Leave your review